Hollowness of ‘Are you feeling better?’

“Are you feeling better?”

This is such a emotionless question. No?

What if I say no…what are you going to do? Will you make it a mission of yours to make me feel better? How do you know what makes me feel better? Or better yet, how do you know I will feel better after you completing your mission of making me feel better?  But is there an alternative? Can you really do something to make me feel better? Maybe you can and maybe you really want to do something to help me, but is it possible that I just need to be by myself? That I don’t need you to do anything.

I think I am not good with silent understandings…I feel like I need to be actively taking some sort of an action if I want to make the other feel better. I think that by doing so my actions are speaking louder than my hollow words of ‘Are you feeling better?’

But if I were to put my own self in that space, I do realise that at times, words are ok. Not everything requires a grand gesture, sometimes I just need the other person to be around for my random bursts of self pity or revelations that I may have. I don’t want them to feel they need to be in action to help me through my issue or whatever it is I am going through. But I also realise that not everybody is like me…maybe they want me to take suitable action, maybe they need me to do something that will help them feel better.

Sigh!

I do wish we were taught all these things in school..maybe then we would feel better….

Leave a comment